4 colors!   2 comments

Here’s a 4-color image of the cells I fixed and stained yesterday. The cells were in differentiation conditions for 1 week before fixation:

Hopefully the color balance will translate ok- being color blind makes this stuff more difficult.

Here’s the color key:
Blue: DAPI nuclear stain
Green: SSTR3:GFP chimera
Red: SSTR3 stain
White: Acetylated alpha-tubulin

It’s a little different than I wanted: I didn’t have a red stain for PC2 (my PC2 primary is anti-rabbit, I don’t have a texas red: anti-rabbit secondary). Some observations:

1) According to the SSTR3 stain, the somatostatin receptor is primarily localized to the nucleus in ciliated cells. In cells without a cilium, the SSTR3 stain co-localizes well (the yellow spots) with the SSTR3:GFP chimera (which indicates that the chimera is indeed a chimera, and that the GFP hasn’t split off, the SSTR3 is recognizable and not degraded, etc.), but is *not* located in the nucleus. This is interesting: under what comditions does SSTR3 go to the nucleus? Does this mean the chimera is cleaved? The hope (was) that the chimera could be used to perform live-cell fluorescence imaging of the cilium to increase its visibility… doesn’t look promising.

2) my primary and secondary antibodies work, specifically target the proteins they are supposed to, and I know how much antibody to add (about 1 microgram).

3) the 4-color cube works, there is no ‘bleeding’ between color channels.

Today I’m giving a seminar to celebrate the movie “Powers of 10”, by Ray and Charles Eames. I first saw the film when I was in elementary school, and it definitely stoked my interest in science.

Posted October 6, 2010 by resnicklab in Physics, Physiology, Science

Tagged with , ,

2 responses to “4 colors!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.|

Leave a Reply

